Reflections from the Weekend

While my birthday was last week, I decided that I wanted to go out of town on Saturday just to have fun. I thought it would be cool to pick up a couple of things to add to the stuff I wanted for my birthday, but I found that I was looking for things to help get my projects going. So, I didn’t get much for myself. I had the chance to hang out with friends that I’ve not had the chance to be with on an out of town adventure, and it was a fun time. I appreciate those times of bonding with people, and I was able to show a fellow geek my favorite comic store.

Due to the long day we had, my Sunday was a day that I wasn’t very motivated to finish my homework, but after about half the day, I found the motivation to plug away at what I had. I’m hopeful that I can really get to producing some content soon, as I’m learning about the casting process for a film. I’ve gotten by so far with the help of friends, and I hope that can continue, but I’m also sure that there is going to come a point where I’m going to have to start doing the casting call process. I do look forward to meeting and working with different people at some point in the near future.

I had to do some rewrites to my script, and I’m glad that it seemed to flow smoother than my first couple attempts. The part that made me sad was that I had to rewrite dialogue for my female character. I love to have witty banter in some of my characters, but alas, a different point of view didn’t agree with the way it went. Being the creative person I am, I’ve always taken criticism as a positive way to improve upon my work.

I’ve been informed that Wonder Con tickets have been purchased for me and the family for this year. I’m really excited to share this experience with the kids, and to go in with a different kind of mind set. Part of the reason that I went into film school was so that I could go into conventions as press, and I hope to learn something about how to go about getting involved with a geek press type of situation.

The week is the start of my preproduction for my short, and I’m really looking forward to sharing this experience with my actors, and I have worked with them both, and have a good relationship with them. I’m eager to get through some rehearsal time with both and see how the chemistry will come out. I’m sure that I won’t be disappointed, because both are tremendous talents on the stage.

I had a chance to go out for coffee with an old friend today. It was nice to catch up, and too bounce some ideas off him. I think we’re going to end up doing something quite fun, and the creative process will be different for me this time around. There will be more on this later, I’m sure.

 

Author: ckproject

I'm just here to entertain and inform

Leave a Reply

