This Short Experience

Wow! I sit here and reflect on the fact that I got this short completed. Everything from the writing of the script to the crazy filming, and finally too the experience of editing.  I enjoyed doing the sound editing, but I also found it to be one of the most time consuming portions of this process.  It’s funny that I think buying the rights to use two songs in this short was the most exciting part of my experience.

What I’ve learned through this whole process are lessons that I’ll continue to carry with me for the rest of my life.  They’ll also help in making me a better story teller.  The way this has gone, the most important lesson is that pre-production is the most important first step. I’ve learned that I need to work on organizing things better.  The biggest part of filming-roomtone is key.  If you don’t know what that is, don’t worry, it’s an unsung hero for the world of bringing film to life. Oh, and I can’t wait until we can start scoring and doing our own music.  I think that will be a great experience.

I know that with the hardship that’s come with this picture, it will make everything that comes after seem like a piece of cake.  It also makes me hungry to do more, and I wish that I could dedicate far more time to working on my craft. Plus having my new creative partner is going to be a wonderful experience to help get the ideas flowing.

As I’m writing this, I’m also sending links to the short so that people can tell me what they think. Here’s the link if you haven’t seen it: https://youtu.be/NrxkWYUDnD4. Enjoy, and leave a note. I take all comments into consideration. I know growth comes from criticism if people are willing to accept it. That was something my drama teacher always loved about me, was that I looked at it as a tool for improvement, and right now, I’m still a toddler in this filmmaking thing.

Author: ckproject

I'm just here to entertain and inform

Leave a Reply

